Public Sector Undertakings

A government-owned enterprise in India is called a Public Sector Undertaking (PSU) or a Public Sector Enterprise. These companies are wholly or partly owned by the Government of India or one of the many state or territorial governments or both together in parts. The officers working in these entities and their subsidiaries are gazetted officers. 

The company stock is majority-owned by the government in a PSU. PSUs are classified as Central public sector undertakings (CPSUs, CPSEs) which are wholly or partly owned by Government of India or State Level public sector undertakings (SLPSUs, SLPSEs) which are wholly or partly owned by state or territorial governments. In 1951, there were just 5 enterprises in the public sector in India, but in March 2019 this had increased to 348. 

These enterprises represented a total investment of about ₹16.41 lakh crore as on 31 March 2019. The total paid up capital as on 31 March 2019 stood at about ₹2.76 lakh crore. CPSEs have been earned revenue of about ₹25.43 lakh crore during the financial year 2018–19.

List of Maharatnas

List of Navratnas

List of Miniratna-II

List of Miniratna-I

List of Central Public Sector Undertakings (Financial Services)

Nationalised Banks (Government Shareholding %, as of 1 April 2020)